Conrad Sangma sworn-in as Meghalaya Chief Minister

Conrad Kongkal Sangma was re-appointed as the Chief Minister of Meghalaya, marking his second consecutive term, in a ceremony that included Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Governor Phagu Chauhan administered the oath to Sangma, his two deputies, and nine other ministers. Sangma had a victory from the South Tura constituency over BJP’s Bernard N Marak by a margin of 5,016 votes, as revealed by the Election Commission of India. The new government, named the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance 2.0, has one female minister, M Ampareen Lyngdoh. The cabinet also includes members from Sangma's National People's Party (NPP). The United Democratic Party (UDP) secured 11 seats, while the Congress and Trinamool Congress each won five seats in the recent assembly polls.


  1. Conrad Kongkal Sangma has commenced his second term as the Meghalaya Chief Minister.
  2. The new government is dubbed the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance 2.0.
  3. Sangma won in the South Tura constituency against BJP's Bernard N Marak by a margin of 5016 votes.
  4. M Ampareen Lyngdoh is the only female minister in the new government.
  5. In the recent assembly polls, the UDP took 11 seats, with both the Congress and Trinamool Congress claiming five each.