Naveen Patnaik Becomes 2nd Longest-Serving CM in Indian History

Naveen Patnaik, the current Chief Minister of Odisha, has become the second-longest serving chief minister in India's history, exceeding the tenure of Jyoti Basu, former Chief Minister of West Bengal, by being in office for 23 years and 139 days. The record holder is Pawan Kumar Chamling of Sikkim, who governed the state for 24 years and 166 days from 1994 to 2019. Patnaik assumed office on March 5, 2000, and, if his party, the Biju Janata Dal, wins the upcoming assembly polls, he might become India's longest-serving chief minister. Prior to this, he also served as Union Minister of Steel and Mines and was a Lok Sabha member from Aska from 1997 to 2000.

Important Points to remember:

  1. Naveen Patnaik is the CM of Odisha with a tenure of 23 years and 139 days, making him the second-longest serving chief minister in India.
  2. Patnaik surpasses the record of Jyoti Basu, former CM of West Bengal.
  3. The longest-serving chief minister record is held by Pawan Kumar Chamling of Sikkim.
  4. Patnaik became the CM of Odisha on March 5, 2000.
  5. Before his tenure as CM, Patnaik served as Union Minister