SAFF Championship 2023 Final: India wins 9th title

The Indian men's football team secured their ninth SAFF Championship title through a thrilling penalty shootout against Kuwait, ending 5-4 at Bengaluru's Sree Kanteerava Stadium. The victory marked India's second consecutive win, as they remained undefeated throughout the tournament. In addition to the title, the Indian team was awarded a cash prize of USD 50,000. The runner-up Kuwait team received USD 25,000. The individual award recipients included Sunil Chhetri as the highest goal scorer and Most Valuable Player, Anisur Rahman Zico as Best Goalkeeper, and Nepal's football team won the Fairplay Award. The SAFF Football Championship, initiated in 1993, is an international tournament contested biennially to promote South Asian football.

Important Points to remember:

  1. The SAFF Championship 2023 took place in Bengaluru's Sree Kanteerava Stadium.
  2. India won their ninth SAFF championship, winning a cash prize of USD 50,000.
  3. India remained undefeated throughout the tournament.
  4. The runner-up was the Kuwait team with a prize of USD 25,000.
  5. Sunil Chhetri was the highest goal scorer and the most valuable player of the tournament.
  6. The best goalkeeper was Anisur Rahman Zico.
  7. The Fairplay award went to the Nepal football team.
  8. The SAFF Championship aims to promote and develop football in the South Asian region.